This guide provides an overview of how to research the history of your house or other historic sites, with an emphasis on resources available in the Local History & Genealogy Department and online.
The Local History & Genealogy Department maintains an extensive vertical file, organized by subject, that contains primarily clippings from local newspapers and occasionally other small printed items such as reports and pamphlets. The Clipping File is one of our most used resources, and often serves as a useful starting point for many research topics. At present, the clipping file can only be viewed on site at the Library, but this online index is provided to give you a sense of what's available.
This guide provides brief descriptions of all manuscript collections available in the Local History & Genealogy department, along with a subject and name index. Some entries reference a finding aid (a guide with additional details about the collection); these are available on request. Collections can be viewed onsite in the department; contact us for more information.
A selection of items from the manuscript collections have been scanned are are available online; view these on our Digital Collections site.
An inventory of county records available in the Local History and Genealogy Department on microfilm and in print, chiefly from Eastern Tennessee, including wills, deeds, marriages, cemetery inscriptions, court records, church histories, and more.
Your Old House: A Guide to Researching House History This guide provides an overview of how to research the history of your house or other historic sites, with an emphasis on resources available in the Local History & Genealogy Department and online.
Clipping File Subject Index The Local History & Genealogy Department maintains an extensive vertical file, organized by subject, that contains primarily clippings from local newspapers and occasionally other small printed items such as reports and pamphlets. The Clipping File is one of our most used resources, and often serves as a useful starting point for many research topics. At present, the clipping file can only be viewed on site at the Library, but this online index is provided to give you a sense of what's available.
Manuscript Collections Guide This guide provides brief descriptions of all manuscript collections available in the Local History & Genealogy department, along with a subject and name index. Some entries reference a finding aid (a guide with additional details about the collection); these are available on request. Collections can be viewed onsite in the department; contact us for more information. A selection of items from the manuscript collections have been scanned are are available online; view these on our Digital Collections site.
Tennessee County Records Guide An inventory of county records available in the Local History and Genealogy Department on microfilm and in print, chiefly from Eastern Tennessee, including wills, deeds, marriages, cemetery inscriptions, court records, church histories, and more.