Items

• Foote, Thomas L. Punk posters collection, circa 1997-2018: Finding aid
  The collection consists of flyers and posters for local rock and punk shows in Chattanooga, Tennessee, circa 1997-2018, collected by Tom Foote. Flyers are from shows at Antarchtica and other Chattanooga-area venues, including Sluggo’s, Ziggy’s, JJ’s Bohemia, Rear Entry, and Father Abraham’s. Frequently promoted bands include One Timers, ADD/C, Ghetto Bird, Tuff Titts, Future Virgins, and Possible Side Effects, among many others. Also included are posters for festivals such as Do Ya Hear We punk fest and Zine Fest, and flyers for other events such as parties, protests, Critical Mass bike rides, potlucks, and fundraisers.
• Hamilton County. Regional Planning Commission. Architectural survey, 1976-1980: Finding aid
  The survey consists of a survey form, and in most cases a black-and-white Polaroid photograph, of each survey sites. On some of the surveys, one photograph illustrates several addresses or building styles. For example, a street with workers’ cottages will have one photograph as an example of all the houses on that street or block. Many of the downtown photographs contain several businesses in one photograph, and they are identified. The consultants identified addresses, building occupants, and building dates using maps and city directories in the Chattanooga Public Library. Many of the rural photographs lack a specific address and information. The survey grant covered Chattanooga city limits and significant sites in Hamilton County. Most of Red Bank and East Ridge were not part of the survey. The following volunteers covered areas not in the Chattanooga city limits: Kurt Stagmier detailed Signal Mountain. Kay Gaston prepared forms for Walden. Grant Chapin surveyed Lookout Mountain. The James County Historical Society covered the east end of Hamilton County. The committee took photographs and prepared forms primarily from 1976-1977, though there is some data from a later date.
• Chattanooga Historical Society. Papers, 1861-1906: Finding aid
  Papers include the Chattanooga Historical Society's constitution and by-laws, correspondence, addresses on historical events in Chattanooga, a dollar bill issued in 1851 by the Bank of Chattanooga, and newspaper clippings related to Chattanooga and many of its residents.
• Swaney, William Bentley, 1858-1945. Papers, 1920-1939: Finding aid
  Papers include addresses; a biographical sketch of Swaney; correspondence; journals, pamphlets and reports chiefly related to the law and law enforcement; reviews and testimonials; and scrapbooks. Correspondents include Garnett Andrews, A. E. Barnes, Carl L. Becker, William E. Borah, Claude G. Bowers, John H. DeWitt, Nancy Lee Fitts, Ben W. Hooper, James D. Hoskins, Cordell Hull, Estes Kefauver, David E. Lilienthal, George Fort Milton, Milton B. Ochs, Newell Sanders, E. D. Shurter, Martin J. Wade.
• Patten, Zeboim Cartter, 1840-1925. Papers, 1831-1921: Finding aid
  Collection consists of papers and records created by Z. Cartter Patten and his grandfather-in-law, Albert S. Lenoir. Patten's papers include correspondence, receipts, diaries, and business papers. Records of Albert S. Lenoir include ration books he created as a Federal issuing agent during Cherokee removal. The handwritten ration books record the names of Cherokee and Creek individuals held at the camps from 1836-1838, along with the volume of various rations they were allotted each week. Lenoir papers also include family and land records, and a list of people who were enslaved by Lenoir with birth and death dates.
• Keating Family. Correspondence, 1862-1888: Finding aid
  Collection consists of letters written to John McLeod Keating of Memphis, Tennessee, and one to B. B. Euston.
• Linn Family. Photograph collection, 1863-1930: Finding aid
  Collection, chiefly photographic, of early Chattanooga photographers Robert M. Linn (?-1872), brother James Birney Linn (?-1922), and Robert's son, George Thomas Linn (1867-1941). Collection consists of 86 photographs of various views of the Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain area; Addition 1 is 85 stereoscopic pictures showing views of Lookout Mountain and vicinity taken by Robert Linn and James Birney Linn. Collection also includes a 1871 grant of Letters of Patent to Robert M. Linn for improvement in photographic filtering apparatus; a book of photographs of Lookout Mountain (9 views) by George Thomas Linn; notes of Robert and George Linn; letter from Hume Wilson to George Thomas Linn, dated Sept. 1, 1935.
• Orgelsdorfer Eulenspiegel, October 1918 - May 1919: Finding aid
  The collection consists of ten original issues (a complete run) of "Orgelsdorfer Eulenspiegel," a literary magazine created between October 1918-May 1919 by German and German-American prisoners interned at Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, during and after World War I, along with English translations. Magazine content includes original and familiar poems, letters, stories, commentary, humor, announcements and reviews of camp events and performances, and colored woodcut illustrations depicting camp life and portraits of prisoners. Portrait subjects include Boston Symphony Orchestra conductor Karl Muck, geneticist Richard Goldschmidt, writer Hanns Heinz Ewers, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra conductor Ernst Kunwald, and physicist Jonathan Zenneck. Early issues reference the impact of the Influenza Epidemic of 1918 (the "Spanish Flu") on the camp. Translations were created by Helen Groh and Daniela Gunthe. Groh and Gunth prioritized translating articles that described camp life. Some of the stories were not translated due to the difficulty of the older German language.
• Fort, Tomlinson, 1839-1910. Papers, 1795-1923: Finding aid
  Collection consists of letters and legal documents relating to the business and family affairs of the Fort family. Legal papers span 1795-1923 and include land grants, property records, and other documents concerning land transactions in Chattanooga and Hamilton County, Tennessee, including records relating to the development of the East Tennessee Iron Manufacturing Company. Also included are papers relating to the Boyce Estate and heirs, especially their mining properties. Family papers span 1795-1883 and include letters concerning the American Civil War as well as personal and family affairs. Also included is a genealogical chart of the Fort family. Collection materials consist of a combination of copies, transcriptions, and original items.
• Lupton Family. Collection, 1836-1917: Finding aid
  Fred and Jane Lupton gathered these materials while working on family histories. In the collection are a genealogy newsletter, the "Luptonian," and a book on descendants of Eli Stone. Of interest is a scrapbook kept by Louise Carolyn Bass from 1914-1917. Louise was a student at Girls Preparatory School, lived at 460 Oak Street, and her scrapbook has dance cards, theater programs, wedding clippings, and information on the Bass family. Also of note is a diary kept by Reverend Abednego Stephens (1812-1841). He was an Episcopal priest and professor at the University of Nashville. In 1839, he became the professor of languages and president of the faculty at Jefferson College in Washington, Mississippi. He journeyed to Cuba to improve his health but returned to Nashville in 1840. His diary covers the years 1836-1840.
• St. Elmo (Tenn.) Records, 1911-1922: Finding aid
  Records generated by St. Elmo town officials from 1911-1922, including Items include town charter, treasurer's reports, marshall's reports (on stock ordinance), letters to the town commissioners and mayors, ordinances, and public utilities information.